13 April 2021

What are Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)?

The Internet has not always been accessible to everyone, as sometimes there have been people with some kind of disability who were prevented from viewing the content offered on the Web. Because of all this, over the years it has improved in terms of accessibility for this group of users, whether through subtitles or other elements that help to better understand what was being displayed on a website. In order to achieve this integration, WCAGs were created as the standard for designing a website.

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

What are Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)?

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines are developed through the W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) process, an international body responsible for providing a single, shared standard that meets people's needs. , organizations and governments internationally in order to standardize web technologies such as HTML, XHTML, CSS and WCAG.

WCAG documents explain how to make web content more accessible to people with disabilities. Web content generally refers to information that can be found on a web page or application, which includes:

  • Natural information such as texts, images and sounds.
  • Code or marking that defines the structure, presentation, etc.


Who are they for?

  • Web content developers (page authors, site designers, etc.)
  • Author program developers
  • Developers of tools for evaluating web accessibility
  • Others who want or need a standard for web accessibility, including mobile accessibility


You may be interested...